About Us

The Academy was created in 1983 pursuant to the Code of Virginia by joint action of local government entities throughout the Roanoke Valley. Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy was established by charter agreement between the 11 original members:

  • The City of Salem
  • Roanoke City
  • Botetourt County
  • The Town of Vinton
  • The Town of Rocky Mount
  • Craig County
  • Bedford County
  • Roanoke County
  • Virginia Western Community College
  • Roanoke Memorial Hospitals
  • Norfolk Southern Corporation

The City of Salem acquired the old Central Avenue Elementary School building where the academy is housed today. The building has undergone numerous additions and renovations as the academy has expanded. Today the academy has 36 Member Agencies and trains over 3,000 students per year. The purpose of the Academy is to provide entry-level, in-service and specialized training to law enforcement, jailor, courtroom security, civil process and dispatcher personnel employed by member agencies.